Connect with us


A big blow for India Test Cricket

A big blow for India Test Cricket

A big blow for India Test Cricket

Team India has left out Hardik Pandya, Prithvi Shaw, and Kuldeep Yadav from the Test Cricket squad as the Kohli-led men are set to face New Zealand in the ICC World Test Championship final. Notably, the trio will not even be the part of a five-match red-ball series upcoming against England.

Pandya has been out of bowling duties on and off due to the injury back in 2018. He quit bowling in multiple games for the Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2020. Along with this, Hardik Pandya did not render his bowling services to the Sharma-led army in IPL 2021 as well. He lastly has played a test back in 2018 versus England.

Jadeja, one of the mentioned players, sustained an injury last year. However, he has made a comeback but the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has preferred Axar Patel on behalf of his exceptional performances.

On the other hand, Prithvi Shaw reportedly has been asked to shed a few pounds before rejoining the team. He always has been crucial for the team amassing 339 runs in five matches but his twin failure in the Adelaide Test recently played has questioned his form.

Consequently, the men in blue are good to go with the fit and foremost opening slot players as the former vice-captain Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, and KL Rahul are the preferred choices.

Discussing Kuldeep Yadav, he had been India’s top-ranked overseas spinner. After missing out on the entire tour of Australia on the bench last year, he seems to be missing out on the Test squad. However, he got a single chance in the red-ball match versus England.

A big blow for India Test Cricket

Notably, the squad that India have announced will first be facing Kane Williamson and co in the final of the ICC World Test Championship and will follow on to face England in a five-match Test series in English backyards.

Here is the squad:

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha

Also, see:

PCB turns down Ramiz Raja’s request

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in India