Connect with us

Cricket News

Abu Dhabi T10 league: Qalandars pick Shahid Afridi

Abu Dhabi T10 league: Qalandars pick Shahid Afridi

Abu Dhabi T10 league: Qalandars pick Shahid Afridi

The Abu Dhabi T10 league has auctioned players for its eight teams as Shahid Afridi ties the knot with Qalandars. Lahore Qalandars’ franchise is eager to enjoy the services of the star in the 2021 edition.

The league was to be initiated by 18th November but the COVID-19 surge terminated the previous schedule. As of now, the ten-over tournament is highly expected to get started by 28th January with 6th February marking its end.

Afridi is chosen as the icon player for the Lahore based franchise and will be rendering his performances as the CEO is expecting magic from his end.

“Shahid Afridi is an exciting and experienced cricketer. The Qalandars family is proud to welcome him back as an icon player for this season of Abu Dhabi T10,” Sameen Rana, CEO of Qalandars, said. “We look forward to welcoming him to the Qalandars family and hope that his presence will take the team to new heights in the season.” he, who bought the franchise last year added.

Notably, Afridi was earlier to be signed by the Qalandars as the franchise has gotten Pakistan-based majorities. But the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) denied issuing the NOC to the former cricketers which resulted in the crisis between UAE and Pakistan.

The former Pakistani cricketer was recently spotted playing for the Galle Gladiators in the first edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL). He was named international icon player of the LPL 2020 and captained the same and the scenario continues in the Abu Dhabi T10 league as the captain is ready to rock the stages once again.

It is to mention that eight teams will be participating in the ten-overs competition known as Maratha Arabians, Pune Devils, Bangla Tigers, Deccan Gladiators, Delhi Bulls, Qalandars, Northern Warriors, and Abu Dhabi.

Abu Dhabi T10 league: Qalandars pick Shahid Afridi

Also, see:

T10 league 2021: Pune Devils pick Mohammad Amir



  1. Pingback: Abu Dhabi T10 league: PCB to issue NOC conditionally - CricFolks

  2. Pingback: BBL 10: Ricky Ponting eliminates Chris Lynn from his best XI - CricFolks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News