Connect with us

New Zealand

Adam Milne gets NZC contract after 5 years

Adam Milne gets NZC contract after 5 years

New Zealand’s pace sensation, Adam Milne, has received a central contract from NZC after a five-year hiatus, securing his place among the elite group of 20 players for the upcoming 2023-24 period. Milne, 31, made a remarkable comeback to the national side last October, following a prolonged absence.

Although he had represented New Zealand in the T20 World Cup in 2021 and was part of the squad in 2022, his return to the ODI format occurred in November, ending a five-year gap since his last appearance during the 2017 Champions Trophy.

Coach Gary Stead praised Milne’s dedication and perseverance, remarking, “Adam’s relentless efforts and unwavering resilience over the past few years have positioned him to merit this contract offer. He has always been an exceptional bowler, and we were thoroughly impressed by his consistent performances during the recent home summer and the tour of Pakistan.”

In addition to Milne, several other players received noteworthy contract offers from NZC. Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, and Blair Tickner have retained their contracts after being added to the list last year, initially replacing retired allrounder Colin de Grandhomme, as well as Trent Boult and Martin Guptill, who opted out of national contracts last year.

However, allrounder James Neesham, who declined an NZC offer almost a year ago, and committed himself to various T20 leagues worldwide, did not find a place in the contract list.

Furthermore, left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel, who was part of the previous group of contracted players, was excluded this time due to his limited participation, featuring in only two Tests during the current period.

According to the terms outlined in the Master Agreement, New Zealand players have until June 12 to accept or decline the contract offers extended by NZC.

The 2023-24 contract list comprises a talented group of players, including Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, and Will Young, each representing New Zealand with skill and dedication on the cricket field.

Also, see:

White-Ball Series on the Horizon: New Zealand Set to Host Pakistan

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in New Zealand