Connect with us


Afghanistan reveal squad for Pakistan series

Afghanistan reveal squad for Pakistan series

The Afghanistan Cricket Board’s Selection Committee has revealed the 18-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Pakistan. The matches are scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka later this month.

Among the notable inclusions are the pace duo, Mohammad Saleem Safi, and Wafadar Momand, who have retained their spots after being part of Afghanistan’s recent ODI tour to Bangladesh.

However, there have been some exclusions from the squad. Left-arm spinner Zia Ur Rahman Akbar, who made his ODI debut against Bangladesh, and the uncapped leg-spinner Izharulhaq Naveed will not be part of the squad for the Pakistan series. On the other hand, left-arm wrist-spinner Noor Ahmad is set to make a comeback to the team.

Additionally, left-handed middle-order batter Shahidullah Kamal and left-arm fast bowler Farid Ahmad Malik have been named as traveling reserves for the tour.

The Chief Selector of the ACB, Asadullah Khan, emphasized that the team’s primary focus is to prepare for the upcoming Asia Cup and World Cup 2023. The three-match ODI series against Pakistan serves as an excellent opportunity to fine-tune their skills and tactics for these crucial events.

Khan also expressed satisfaction with the players’ recent performances in the Kabul Camp, which was supervised by ACB’s HPC staff. The team will further enhance their preparations through a week-long conditioning camp ahead of the Pakistan series.

The Afghanistan squad for the ODI series includes Hashmatullah Shahidi as captain, with Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Ikram Alikhil as the wicket-keeping options. The batting department features Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Rahmat Shah, and Najibullah Zadran. In the all-rounder category, the team boasts talents like Mohammad Nabi and Azmatullah Omarzai. The spin department will be spearheaded by the sensational Rashid Khan, accompanied by Noor Ahmad and Mujeeb Ur Rehman. The pace attack consists of Fazal Haq Farooqi, Abdul Rahman, Mohammad Saleem Safi, and Wafadar Momand.

The ODI series schedule is as follows:

  • 22nd August – 1st ODI in Hambantota, Sri Lanka
  • 24th August – 2nd ODI in Hambantota, Sri Lanka
  • 26th August – 3rd ODI in Colombo, Sri Lanka

Also, see:

Jack Wood’s Sensational Century Crushes Pakistan Shaheens in T20 Final

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Afghanistan