Connect with us

Big Bash League

All you need to know about BBL 2023 Final

All you need to know about BBL 2023 Final

The KFC BBL 2023 Final features the Perth Scorchers and the Brisbane Heat. The Scorchers are going for their unprecedented fifth BBL title and they hold the home ground advantage after finishing on top of the BBL|12 table. On the other hand, the Heat had to fight their way to the final, winning three finals on the trot away from home after finishing the regular season in fifth place.

Here is everything you need to know about BBL 2023 Final

BBL 2023 Final Details


The final will take place tomorrow, Saturday, February 4, from 4.30pm AWST/7.30pm AEDT, at Perth Stadium in Perth. After being cut off from Western Australia for the majority of last season, the Scorchers have made a triumphant return to the ‘Furnace’ this summer, winning seven of their eight games at the venue. The Heat have won only once at Perth Stadium, back in January 2019.


Unfortunately, the final is a sell-out. The first 34,000 publicly allocated tickets were snapped up just four hours after going on sale last Sunday and all membership guest passes and premium hospitality packages have also sold out. A second smaller allocation of public access tickets went on sale on Friday, February 3, at 10am AWST and were all gone in less than an hour. A crowd in excess of 50,000 is expected for the match.


The BBL|12 Final will be broadcast live on Channel 7, Fox Cricket, and Kayo Sports. Live ball-by-ball radio coverage is available on SEN, which can also be streamed on and the CA Live app.

Live scores, news, and highlights

For live scores, news, and highlights, you can check out and the CA Live app. Make sure to follow @cricketcomau and @BBL on social media for the best bits of the Final.

Unavailable Players

Unfortunately, several key players will not be able to play in the final. Jhye Richardson has been ruled out with a hamstring injury, and Lance Morris and Ashton Agar have linked up with the Australian Test squad for their Qantas Tour of India. The Heat also have their absences with three of their top four from their first two BBL|12 finals wins – Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, and Matthew Renshaw – departing for the Indian tour. Mitchell Swepson also joined the Australian Test squad following the victory over the Thunder.

Probable Teams

Despite the absence of several key players, the final will still feature plenty of ‘big game’ players. Scorchers captain Ashton Turner has scored 138 runs in his last two finals innings, while Michael Neser is arguably the unluckiest player not to be selected for the Indian Test series. The tournament’s second and third leading wicket-takers – Michael Neser (26) and Andrew Tye (25) – will go head-to-head, while Perth allrounder Aaron Hardie has a chance to add a BBL championship to his breakout season after narrowly missing selection in last year’s final.

Perth Scorchers: Cameron Bancroft, Stephen Eskinazi, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis (wk), Ashton Turner (c), Nick Hobson, Cooper Connolly, Andrew Tye, David Payne, Jason Behrendorff, Matthew Kelly

Brisbane Heat: Sam Heazlett, Josh Brown, Nathan McSweeney, Sam Hain, Jimmy Peirson (c, wk), Max Bryant, James Bazley, Michael Neser, Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, Matt Kuhnemann

The final promises to be an exciting and thrilling match, with both teams determined to come out on top. Despite the absence of several key players, the final is set to be a spectacle not to be missed.

Also, see:

Whom to credit for PSL 8 exhibition match? Tells Afridi

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Big Bash League