Connect with us

Mens T20 World Cup

Only these teams have announced T20 World Cup 2024 squads so far

Only these teams have announced T20 World Cup 2024 squads so far

The cricketing world is gearing up for the seventh edition of the T20 World Cup, set to kick off on June 1st, with the United States and the West Indies playing host. This year’s tournament promises to be the biggest yet, with 20 teams battling it out for the coveted trophy. As squads begin to take shape, anticipation is reaching fever pitch among fans worldwide.

The defending champions, England, who clinched the title by defeating Pakistan in a thrilling final in 2022, have announced a formidable squad led by the explosive Jos Buttler. The likes of Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, and Ben Duckett will be key figures as England aim to retain their crown.

India, led by Rohit Sharma, are also eyeing the title with a star-studded lineup featuring the likes of Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and the dynamic Rishabh Pant. With an array of talent in both batting and bowling departments, India is poised to make a strong challenge for the trophy.

New Zealand, the first team to unveil their squad, will be led by the experienced Kane Williamson. With the likes of Trent Boult, Tim Southee, and rising star Devon Conway in their ranks, the Kiwis are expected to pose a serious threat to their opponents.

Meanwhile, South Africa, under the captaincy of Aiden Markram, have named a squad blending youth and experience. Players like Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada, and David Miller will be crucial to South Africa’s campaign as they aim to add another T20 World Cup title to their cabinet.

The tournament will also see some debutants, with Canada and Uganda making their maiden appearances. The USA, as co-hosts, will also participate for the first time, adding an extra layer of excitement to the event.

Groupings for the tournament have been announced, with some tantalizing matchups in store. In Group A, arch-rivals India and Pakistan will renew their rivalry, joined by hosts USA, Canada, and Ireland, making their first appearance.

Group B sees England and Australia, the last two winners of the tournament, pitted against each other alongside Namibia, Scotland, and Oman. Group C features the West Indies, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea, promising fierce contests.

In Group D, South Africa will lock horns with Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, the Netherlands, and Nepal, in what is expected to be a closely fought battle for supremacy.

As the countdown to the T20 World Cup begins, fans around the globe are eagerly awaiting the action-packed tournament, where the best cricketing talent will converge for a shot at glory.

T20 World Cup 2024 Squads:

Team Squad
England Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, Mark Wood
India Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj. Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan
New Zealand Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee. Travelling Reserve: Ben Sears
South Africa Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs
Australia Yet to be announced
Pakistan Yet to be announced
West Indies Yet to be announced
Bangladesh Yet to be announced
Canada Yet to be announced
Uganda Yet to be announced
USA Yet to be announced
Ireland Yet to be announced
Namibia Yet to be announced
Nepal Yet to be announced
Netherlands Yet to be announced
Afghanistan Yet to be announced
Scotland Yet to be announced
Sri Lanka Yet to be announced
Oman Yet to be announced
Papua New Guinea Yet to be announced

Also, see:

Update on Pakistan’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Mens T20 World Cup