Connect with us

Test Cricket

Ashes 2021-22: Perth no more to host final Test

Ashes 2021-22: Perth no more to host final Test

The city of Perth is no more to host the final, fifth Test of the Ashes 2021-22 between Australia and England due to the strict COVID restrictions in Western Australia. Cricket Australia (CA) is yet to unveil the alternative venue for the match set to progress on 14th January 2022.

The CEO of CA, Nick Hockley, is disappointed over the synopsis and says that the board did everything in its power to host the fifth Test in Perth city, but the efforts went in vain. While talking to Cricbuzz, he added,

“We acknowledge and appreciate the efforts of the WA Government, relevant agencies, and Perth Stadium over recent months. We are very disappointed that we are unable to stage the fifth Vodafone men’s Ashes Test at Perth Stadium.

We did everything we could in partnership with the WA Government and WA Cricket to make it work under the current border and health arrangements, but unfortunately, this was not possible,”

The efforts going in vain is not the only disappointment Hockley has. He says the fans from Western Australia will not be able to enjoy the top-notch cricket between the arch-rivals. Perth was set to host the first-ever match of the Ashes series.

“We are particularly disappointed for Western Australian cricket fans who were so looking forward to seeing the first-ever Ashes Test at the new stadium,”

Ashes 2021-22: Venue for the final test yet to be announced

The Ashes 2021-22 Test series is set to begin from 8th December, Wednesday, at the Gabba. The second, third, and fourth encounters will be played in Adelaide, Melbourne, and Sydney respectively.

Ashes 2019 final day highlight:

it is pertinent to mention that Australia have named their playing XI for the first match whereas, Joe Root, the skipper of the England Cricket Team, felt insecure to reveal the team details before time.

Australia XI for Ashes first match:

Australia: Marcus Harris, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitch Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

England squad for Ashes:

England: Joe Root (c), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

It is pertinent to mention that the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) earlier announced their squad and are yet to reveal the playing XI.

Also, see:

Ashes 2021-22: England’s captain opens up on Ben Stokes’ return

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Test Cricket