Connect with us

Sri Lanka

Australia tour of Sri Lanka given green signal despite Sri Lanka’s turmoil

Australia tour of Sri Lanka given green signal despite Sri lanka's turmoil

Australia tour of Sri Lanka, which looked in jeopardy following Sri Lanka’s biggest turmoil, is now given green signals reportedly. The tour will go ahead as scheduled composed of three T20Is, five ODIs, and two tests. There were higher speculations that the tour might be suspended following the island nation’s situation but the two boards Cricket Australia and Sri Lanka Cricket have mutually agreed on commencing the series.

Sri Lanka’s current political and economical situation moved the limited-over series to the day games however, the SLC has now confirmed that the series will be played under lights. Aus vs SL series will kick-start from T20Is from 7th June, to be followed by ODIs to start from 14th June. Whereas, the red-ball series will get underway on June 29th. Both Tests are scheduled to take place at Galle Stadium.

SLC secretary Mohan de Silva said on Tuesday.

“There is no disruption in the schedule and the white ball games will be night or day-night affairs,”

Australian cricketers are excited to be part of the tour as Alex Carey is hopeful of putting smiles on the faces of shattered Sri Lankans. The CA also added that they are looking forward to a tough competition to test T20 Cricket skills ahead of the World Cup.

“We are always well looked after by CA, security, and the information we are given, so it’s exciting to hopefully put a bit of a smile on the Sri Lankan faces,” Alex Carey said to Fox Cricket.

Australia tour of Sri Lanka 2022 full schedule:

T20 schedule

Match Date Location
First T20 June 7 Colombo, Sri Lanka
Second T20 June 8 Colombo, Sri Lanka
Third T20 June 11 Colombo, Sri Lanka

ODI schedule

Match Date Location
First ODI June 14 Kandy, Sri Lanka
Second ODI June 16 Kandy, Sri Lanka
Third ODI June 19 Colombo, Sri Lanka
Fourth ODI June 21 Colombo, Sri Lanka
Fifth ODI June 24 Colombo, Sri Lanka

Test schedule

Match Date Location
First Test June 28 – July 3 Galle, Sri Lanka
Second Test July 8 – July 12 Galle Sri Lanka

Also, see:

Pakistan Women’s Team all set to tour Australia in 2023

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sri Lanka