Connect with us

Cricket News

Australia win maiden T20 World Cup title

Australia win maiden T20 World Cup title

Australia, under the leadership of Aaron Finch, have won their maiden ICC T20 World Cup title with an emphatic win against New Zealand in Dubai.

Australians are no stranger to the ICC ODI World Cup glory winning the title five times. However, they had never won a 20-over contest on the big stage.

They entered the final for the second time this World Cup as the last glory came in 2010 when they lost to England. This time, they made sure not to let go of the chance and lifted the trophy with firecrackers everywhere.

They were slow starters at the beginning of the tournament but settled well going from strength to strength. At the right time, different players peaked showing they have entered to win and made match-winning contributions when required to end up lifting an elusive trophy.

Although two of the Aussie bowlers, Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell went quite expensive whilst Kane Williamson’s men were propelled to bat first, but Aaron Finch’s guys overcame the blunders while chasing.

Starc’s spell of 4-0-60-0 looked horrendous, whereas, Maxwell settled for 3-0-28-0. It gave a free hand to Kane to smash 85 off 48 and put up a score of 172 on the board.

However, Marsh and David Warner’s hit half-centuries to chase down with ease leaving smiley faces everywhere around the stadium, in Australian realms, and a night, that should pass for the Black Caps.

Finch and co rarely took their foot off the gas as they raced to the World Cup title with eight wickets and seven balls to spare, sparking jubilant celebrations in the UAE.

There were tears of joy for the yellow shirts and disheartened tears for the Kiwis.

Also, see:

Is Pak vs Ind bilateral series coming up? Reveals Ganguly

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Cricket News