Connect with us

T20 World Cup 2021

Axar Patel out of India’s T20 World Cup squad

Axar Patel out of India's T20 World Cup squad

The Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has named Shardul Thakur, the pacer, in India’s T20 World Cup squad in place of the all-rounder, Axar Patel. The announcement was made on Wednesday, 13th October, two days after the squad submission deadline.

Patel, who earlier was named in the 15-man squad, has now been placed in the reserved players’ list for the big event.

Here is India’s full squad for the T20 World Cup 2021:

15-man squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami

Reserved players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel

Moreover, the BCCI has named eight players who will join the team bubble in Dubai to assist and accommodate men in blue for the World Cup. The names include Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed and K. Gowtham.

It is pertinent to mention that the tournament is set to be played in Oman, UAE venues. Despite the fact that the BCCI are the original hosts, the cricket-loving nation had no option but to drag World Cup in the secondary venue for hosting amidst the COVID outbreak.

India, under Virat Kohli, will mark their World Cup opener versus their arch-rivals, Pakistan on 24th October. Notably, the event will be Kohli’s last T20I assignment as a captain.

Here is India’s complete schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

October 24th – vs Pakistan

October 31st – vs New Zealand

November 3rd – vs Afghanistan

November 5th – vs B1

November 1st – vs A2

Also, see:

NT20 final: One inch closer KPK to defend their title vs CEP

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in T20 World Cup 2021