Connect with us


BCCI excludes two players from central contracts

BCCI excludes two players from central contracts

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced its list of centrally contracted players for the 2023-24 season, reflecting both continuity and changes in the Indian cricket landscape. Notably, Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan have been excluded from the 30-member list, with the BCCI citing a prioritization of domestic cricket for their omission. Meanwhile, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, and Mohammed Siraj have been elevated to the Grade A category, underlining their growing stature in the national setup.

Rishabh Pant, who recently recovered from a road accident, has been placed in Grade B, highlighting the BCCI’s consideration for players’ well-being amidst their professional commitments. The core of the Indian team remains intact, with stalwarts like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ravindra Jadeja retaining their Grade A+ contracts. Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, and Mohammed Shami continue to be in Grade A, emphasizing their pivotal roles in the team’s success.

Significant reshuffles have occurred in the lower tiers, with Axar Patel moving from Grade A to Grade B and Kuldeep Yadav being promoted from Grade C to B. Yashasvi Jaiswal finds himself newly contracted in Grade B, while Suryakumar Yadav retains his place from the previous season. However, Cheteshwar Pujara misses out on a contract this season after being in Grade B previously, signaling a shift in the selectors’ focus.

Grade C sees an expansion from 11 to 15 players, with ten new inclusions such as Ravi Bishnoi, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Shivam Dube, among others. Notably excluded from Grade C are experienced campaigners like Umesh Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, and Yuzvendra Chahal, highlighting the selectors’ emphasis on performance-based criteria.

In a new development, the BCCI has introduced Fast Bowling contracts to recognize specialized talent in the bowling department, including promising names like Akash Deep and Umran Malik. This move reflects the board’s commitment to nurturing talent across all facets of the game.

Overall, the contract list reflects a balance of experience and emerging talent, with an emphasis on rewarding consistent performance in international matches. It underscores the BCCI’s commitment to fostering a competitive environment and incentivizing players to strive for excellence in Indian cricket.

BCCI Central Contracts

Grade A+: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja.

Grade A: R Ashwin, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill and Hardik Pandya.

Grade B: Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Grade C: Rinku Singh, Tilak Verma, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson, Arshdeep Singh, KS Bharat, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Rajat Patidar.

Fast Bowling contracts: Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal and Vidwath Kaverappa.

Also, see:

Do you know? Qalandars can still qualify for PSL 9 playoffs

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in India