Connect with us


Chris Gayle and others drafted at Global T20 Canada

Chris Gayle and others drafted at Global T20 Canada: Chris Gayle makes big prediction about IPL 2023 final

The highly anticipated third edition of the Global T20 Canada is set to kick off between July 20 and August 6 in Ontario, featuring a star-studded lineup of players. Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Shakib al Hasan, and Mohammad Rizwan are just a few of the prominent names gracing the tournament with their presence.

This season marks a revamp for the league, as previous champions Winnipeg Hawks will not be participating, and Edmonton Royals will also be absent. However, their spots will be filled by Surrey Jaguars and Mississauga Panthers, injecting fresh energy into the competition. Each team will consist of two marquee players, three Canadian national team players, and three emerging Canadian talents. A total of 25 matches will be played over the course of 18 action-packed days.

Interestingly, the Global T20 Canada will coincide with another major T20 franchise-based league, Major League Cricket, which will be held in Texas in July. This creates a thrilling scenario for North American cricket enthusiasts, with two high-profile tournaments taking place simultaneously.

However, the addition of the GT20 also puts additional strain on the cricketing calendar, which is already packed with various T20 leagues. The tournament will overlap with Pakistan’s two-Test series against Sri Lanka in July, causing some scheduling conflicts. Despite this, 14 Pakistani players have been picked up by the six franchises, but the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has made it clear that players chosen for the Test series will not be available for the GT20.

The Global T20 Canada had previously seen successful seasons in 2018 and 2019. However, due to payment disputes and the global Covid-19 pandemic, the third edition had to be postponed for three years. Now, with the situation improving, cricket fans can look forward to witnessing thrilling matches and exceptional performances from some of the best players in the world.

As the squads start to take shape, exciting combinations are emerging. The Surrey Jaguars boast an impressive lineup including Alex Hales, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Jason Behrendorff. The Mississauga Panthers, on the other hand, have the legendary Chris Gayle, Shoaib Malik, and James Neesham in their ranks. Each team brings its unique strengths, ensuring a captivating tournament for fans to enjoy.

Also, see:

IPL 2023 Final Prize Ceremony: Full Winners List and Awards

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in T20