Connect with us


Gujranwala and Mardan to open Pakistan Junior League

Gujranwala and Mardan to open Pakistan Junior League

The maiden edition of the Pakistan Junior League (PJL 1) is all set to be played in Lahore from October 1st to 16th. The U-19 T20 league will be a PSL-like competition that chairman Ramiz Raja has been planning to execute since his tenure started. His dream project will now be a reality as six teams will compete to lift the trophy.

PCB has named the six teams as Hyderabad Hunters, Mardan Warriors, Bahawalpur Royals, Rawalpindi Raiders, Gwadar Sharks, and Gujranwala Giants. The first round will be played on a single-league basis, and each team will face the other once. The top four will reach the next round, called Qualifiers.

PJL 1 Qualifiers explained:

Ranked first and second teams will encounter Qualifier 1, and the winners will move to the Final, whereas the losers will be left with another chance. In the next match, the Eliminator ranked third, and fourth teams will battle. The winners of Eliminator will go home straightway, whereas the losers will move to Qualifier 2, where they will lock horns with the losers of Qualifier 1. The winner of Qualifier 2 will reach the PJL 1 Final to compete with the winners of Qualifier 1.

PJL 1 complete schedule:

6 October – Gujranwala Giants vs Mardan Warriors

7 October – Bahawalpur Royals vs Hyderabad Hunters

8 October – Rawalpindi Raiders vs Gwadar Sharks; Gujranwala Giants vs Bahawalpur Royals

9 October – Hyderabad Hunters vs Gwadar Sharks; Rawalpindi Raiders vs Mardan Warriors

10 October – Bahawalpur Royals vs Mardan Warriors

11 October – Hyderabad Hunters vs Rawalpindi Raiders

12 October – Gujranwala Giants vs Gwadar Sharks

13 October – Mardan Warriors vs Hyderabad Hunters

14 October  – Rawalpindi Raiders vs Gujranwala Giants; Bahawalpur Royals vs Gwadar Sharks

15 October – Hyderabad Hunters vs Gujranwala Giants; Bahawalpur Royals vs Rawalpindi Raiders

16 October – Mardan Warriors vs Gwadar Sharks

18 October – Qualifier 1 (1 vs 2)

19 October – Eliminator (3 vs 4)

20 October – Qualifier 2 (Loser Qualifier 1 vs Winner Eliminator)

21 October – Final (Qualifier 1 Winner vs Qualifier 2 Winner)

All the doubleheaders will be played at 3:30 PM and 8:00 PST, whereas the single headers will start at 8:00 PM PST.

Match timings:

Double-headers – 3:30 pm and 8:00 PM PST respectively

All single-headers – 8:00 PM

PJL 1 complete squads:

Each squad is divided into three categories; Elite, Premier, and X-factor. Here are all six squads.

Bahawalpur Royals:

Elite Category: Arham Nawab (vice-captain), Nathan Edwards (West Indies), Obaid Shahid (c), Sajjad Ali

Premier Category: Mohammad Zeeshan, Rehan Ahmed (England), Basit Ali, Ali Razzaq, Nangeyalia Kharotai (Afghanistan)

X-factor Category: Farhan Yousaf, Mohammad Tayyab Arif, Shahwaiz Irfan, Mohammad Danish, Ahmed Hussain, Gabriel Gallman-Findlay

Gujranwala Giants:

Elite Category: Ali Asfand, Azan Awais, Uzair Mumtaz (c), Tom Aspinwall (England)

Premier Category: Mohammad Ibtisam, Ariful Islam (Bangladesh), Hasnain Majid, Shevon Daniel (Sri Lanka), Mohammad Shan

X-factor Category: Mohammad Waqas, Hasan Ali Jnr, Mohammad Aqib Asghar, Saqlain Nawaz, Hamza Nawaz, Matthew Tromp (USA).

Gwadar Sharks:

Elite Category: Joseph Eckland (England), Danial Ibrahim (England), Haseeb Nazim, Muhammad Ismail

Premier Category: Arafat Minhas, Luc Martin Benkenstein (England), Mohammad Shoaib, Saad Masood, Shamyl Hussain

X-factor Category: Momin Qamar, Mohammad Abubakar, Aftab Ahmed, Muhammad Zulkifal, Adnan Iqbal, Kushal Malla (Nepal).

Hyderabad Hunters:

Elite Category: Saad Baig (c), Afaq Khan, Aftab Ibrahim, Isai Thorne (West Indies)

Premier Category: Haseeb-ur-Rehman, Muneeb Wasif, James Ross Wood (England), Lahiru Dawatage (Sri Lanka), Arbaz Khan

X-factor Category: Mohammad Zubair Jnr, Moeez Rana, Hassan Iqbal, Fahad Amin, Salman Ahmed, Ali Naseer (UAE).

Mardan Warriors:

Elite Category: George Thomas (England), Abbas Ali (c), Archie Lenham (England), Abdullah

Premier Category: Daud Nazir, Haseeb Khan, Muhammad Nabeel, Olly Cox (England), Mohammad Farooq

X-factor Category: Mohammad Irfan, Aimal Khan, Zohaib Khan Shanzaib, Syed Tayyab Hussain, Shahzaib Khan, Burhan Niaz (Belgium).

Rawalpindi Raiders:

Elite Category: Habibullah (c), Ali Ishaq, Afnan Khan, Hassan Eisakhil (Afghanistan)

Premier Category: Ali Raza, Kai Smith (England), Aseer Mughal, Amir Hassan, Allah Mohammad Ghazanfar (Afghanistan)

X-factor Category: Ziaullah, Usman Khan, Wahaj Riaz, Haroon Arshad, Naveed Ahmed Khan, Charlie Tear (England)

Also, see:

PCB hints changing Pakistan T20 World Cup 2022 squad

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Pakistan