Connect with us

Pakistan Super League

Hanif Mohammad Cap: What is Green Cap in PSL?

green cap

The ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 2024) is on the brink of conclusion as the much-awaited final clash looms for March 18. Throughout the season, we have witnessed a plethora of ground-breaking batting performances. While some gained attention for their long sixes, centuries, and quick knocks, Peshawar Zalmi’s Babar Azam was in the limelight for his consistency throughout.

Azam remained among the top run-scorers of the PSL 2024 and ended the round-robin as the leading run-scorer. Just ahead of the grand finale, he sits at the top of the table with 569 runs. It also makes him one of the three cricketers in the history of PSL to cross the 500-run mark in a single season.

The Zalmi captain had a great run not only as an individual but also as a leader. Zalmi were the second side to reach the PSL 2024 playoffs, and their skipper entered the stage with a green cap. The green cap in PSL is also called the Hanif Mohammad Cap and is worn throughout the tournament by the real-time leading run-scorers. It changes frequently throughout the season and is finally awarded to the table-topper by the end of the tournament.

Who wins the Green Cap?

Reeza Hendricks and Rassie van der Dussen were also in contention leading the most runs charts, however, for the last few appearances, it’s Azam to grace to Hanif Mohammad Cap. Since no other player is close to the 500-run mark with the final looming on March 18, it is evident that the ex-skipper of the national side is the winner of this Green Cap.

It was decided to give the green cap to PSL’s leading run-scorer from the second season in 2017. It is pertinent to mention that Azam earlier won Hanif Mohammad caps back in the 2020 and 2021 seasons with Karachi Kings.

Fans and the experts anticipated another big inning from Babar to close up PSL 2024 on a good note in the final, however, Islamabad United ended Zalmi’s final hopes during Eliminator 2. Notably, the event’s final is slated to take place on March 18 between Multan Sultans and United.

Also, see:

Islamabad United reach PSL 2024 final

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Pakistan Super League