Connect with us

Mens T20 World Cup

How each team qualified for T20 World Cup 2024?

All 20 teams of T20 World Cup 2024 and how they qualified

Uganda’s triumphant victory over Rwanda in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa qualifier secured their coveted position among the top two teams, ensuring their participation in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The upcoming tournament, set to unfold in the UAE and the West Indies, promises an exciting clash of cricketing nations, with 20 teams competing for glory.

Namibia, another standout performer in the Africa qualifier, maintained an unbeaten record throughout the tournament, cementing their place alongside Uganda as the representatives from the African continent in the T20 World Cup.

All teams in T20 World Cup 2024

The final list of qualified teams for the event reads like a cricketing atlas, featuring Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Uganda, and the United States of America (USA).

For the first time in the history of the ICC T20 World Cup, a total of 20 teams will vie for supremacy, divided into four groups of five each. The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super Eight phase, a critical juncture where the remaining teams will be distributed into two groups of four. The competition will intensify as the top two teams from each Super Eight group will advance to the semi-finals, culminating in the grand finale.

How did each team qualify for the T20 World Cup 2024?

Among the automatic qualifiers as hosts, the UAE and the West Indies add their flair to the mix. Meanwhile, Afghanistan and Bangladesh earned their spots based on their impressive ICC rankings. A cohort of cricketing powerhouses, including England, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, India, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and the Netherlands, secured their direct qualification from the preceding World Cup in 2022.

The journey to the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 saw qualifications unfolding over various continents. In July 2023, Ireland and Scotland emerged as the first two teams to qualify from the Europe Qualifier. Following suit, Papua New Guinea earned their spot after triumphing in the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier in a demonstration of cricketing prowess. Canada joined the list of qualifiers in October 2023, sealing their place after a convincing victory over Bermuda in the Americas Qualifier.

The quest for a place in the T20 World Cup continued in the Asia Qualifier, where Nepal and Oman secured their spots by reaching the final. The latest additions to the lineup came from the Africa Qualifier, with Namibia and Uganda guaranteeing their top-two finish and subsequent qualification for the prestigious tournament.

Means of Qualification Date Venues Teams Qualified Teams
Hosts 16 November 2021 2 United States, West Indies
2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 13 November 2022 Australia 8 Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka
ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings 14 November 2022 2 Afghanistan, Bangladesh
Europe Qualifier 20–28 July 2023 Scotland 2 Ireland, Scotland
East Asia-Pacific Qualifier 22–29 July 2023 Papua New Guinea 1 Papua New Guinea
Americas Qualifier 30 September–7 October 2023 Bermuda 1 Canada
Asia Qualifier 30 October–5 November 2023 2 Nepal, Oman
Africa Qualifier 22–30 November 2023 Namibia 2 Namibia, Uganda
Total 20

Also, see:

Students from Jammu & Kashmir arrested for celebrating India’s loss in World Cup final

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Mens T20 World Cup