Connect with us

T20 Leagues

ILT20 reveals plans to avoid clash with other major T20 leagues

ILT20 reveals plans to avoid clash with other major T20 leagues

The inaugural edition of the UAE’s International League T20 (ILT20) is set to clash with major T20 leagues’ schedules, including Australia’s Big Bash League, Bangladesh Premier League, and yet-to-be-named Cricket South Africa’s league. Mubashir Usmani, the general secretary of the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB), has revealed that ILT20 bosses are in contact with the other T20 leagues to avoid major clashes with the competition.

It must be noted UAE’s ILT20 is going to be the second-most cash-rich league after the Indian Premier League in terms of players’ remuneration. It has its biggest investment from IPL franchises, buying multiple teams in the ILT20. Not only this, but the owners of different IPL franchises have also bought all six teams in the CSA T20 league.

According to ECB, a window between January 6th and February 12th has been named for the first edition of the ILT20, identifying the most suitable playing conditions in the UAE.

“While this window suits our purpose, we are closely working with different boards toward minimising date clashes,” Usmani said.

ILT20 is also looking to rope in big Australian cricketers, including Chris Lynn and David Warner. However, Cricket Australia (CA) has offered lucrative deals to their players, negotiating with ILT20 to get hold of their players in BBL. Warner has been offered a wealthy contract in BBL for the first time since 2013 as the CA is not in favour of handing its big players to the UAE-based tournament.

“We are working with Cricket Australia. In fact, we are in touch with all the relevant cricket boards to minimise any major clashes. We do want Australian as well as any other available players to be involved with the league.”

As far as ILT20’s squads are concerned, each playing XI must have two local players from the UAE apart from signing big foreign cricketers from all across the world. It has been heard that no Pakistani cricketer is welcomed following IPL owners’ investment in the league.

Also, see:

ILT20 or BBL, Which league will David Warner play?

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in T20 Leagues