Connect with us

Indian Premier League

Which stadium is likely to host IPL 2021 playoffs?

Which stadium is likely to host IPL 2021 playoffs?

Which stadium is likely to host IPL 2021 playoffs?

World’s biggest and cash-rich t20 tournament, the Indian Premier League (IPL 2021) is tentatively to kick off by April. With the official schedule yet to be released, a lot of speculations are made.

There are discussions on the venue selection. A few reports declare Kolkata, Bangalore, Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, and Chennai as the official venue to host IPL 2021 while the others report ‘only’ Chennai, Ahmedabad Stadium as the ‘only’ organizer of the T20 league.

With the talks coming around, the final decision hangs by a threat. With some of the more reports coming in the way of the latest IPL news, it is assumed that IPL 2021 playoffs might be host at the Narendra Modi Stadium.

Which stadium is likely to host IPL 2021 playoffs?

The publicized decision is yet to be made but it would more likely be trashed. The Modi stadium hosted its first-ever Test as India and guests England played the third match of their ongoing series.

The ground turned to be fully bowling supportive with zero favor for the batsmen. Ashwin completed his 400 Test wickets as he grasped pacer Jofra Archer. He winded the third test with seven wickets.

Axar Patel, the spinner, remained outstanding with 11 wickets. From England, we saw Joe Root, the terrific batter, and an occasional spinner conceding 8 runs off 5 wickets – tremendous yet shocking.


In short, the pitch helped winding up the test in 1.5 days. Consequently, it became more like a T20 game rather than a Test – The shortest test since 1935.

It would be horrible to organize a T20 match here until the pitch is fully worked on and established for the batters as well. If the Test was winded in 1.5 days, the T20 might end in 1.5 hours.

Hence, the management is likely to give up on the idea. Seeking the COVID beloved conditions, the authorities might keep the tournament with a 50% crowd allowance at any one venue.

Also, see:

Rizwan or Sarfaraz? Here is who will play in the ICC T20 World Cup

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Indian Premier League