Connect with us

Indian Premier League

IPL Women to be launched in 2023

IPL Women to be launched in 2023

Women’s cricket has gained massive popularity over the past few years. Sourav Ganguly, the president of the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has talked about launching the Indian Premier League for women (IPL Women) in 2023. He discussed the board is in the final stages of discussing the competition.

The step has been taken to ignite women’s cricket across the world, especially across the Asian realms, where men’s cricket in every way has been empowered from always. It will be a golden chance for women cricketers across the world to polish their skills and gain the limelight.

According to Ganguly, IPL Women be boosted just like men’s cricketing competition and will be hyped in a shorter course. Apart from the BCCI taking an initiative to launch women’s tournaments, many countries already have been successfully doing that e.g, BBL Women.

While talking to ESPN Cricinfo, he added,

“We are at the level of formulation to have a full-fledged WIPL. It is certainly going to happen. I strongly believe that next year i.e. 2023 will be a very good time to start a full-fledged women’s IPL which will be as big and grand a success as men’s IPL,”

IPL Women first edition will be a seven-team competition

Ganguly mentioned IPL Women will progress from a pool of seven teams at the beginning which can be gradually risen with time.

 “You need a lot more women players. I see that in four years’ time, to get a seven-team IPL with the best women players [in participation],”

As far as men’s IPL upcoming season is considered, it is to start from early April or late March this year. Choosing a venue is still a fuss for the Indian cricket authorities but in Ganguly’s recent statements, he mentioned the possibilities of Maharashtra fulling hosting the extravaganza.

Also, see:

PSL 2022: Imad Wasim urges Karachi Kings’ fans to not lose hope

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Indian Premier League