Connect with us

Pakistan Super League

Islamabad United beat Kings to keep PSL 2024 playoff hopes alive

Islamabad United keep PSL 2024 playoff hopes alive

In a thrilling encounter at the National Stadium, Islamabad United clinched a crucial victory in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024, marking their second win of the season. Prior to this match, Islamabad United had struggled, managing only one win out of four games, leaving them languishing second-last on the table. However, their fortunes took a positive turn as they secured a significant win, reigniting their hopes of qualifying for the playoffs.

Facing off against the Karachi Kings, who were positioned just above them in the standings, Islamabad United opted to bowl first after winning the toss. Karachi Kings posted a competitive total of 165/5, with Kieron Pollard’s blistering unbeaten knock of 48 runs off 28 deliveries playing a pivotal role in their innings. Irfan Khan contributed with a valuable 27* off 22 balls, while the rest of the batting lineup couldn’t make significant contributions.

In response, Islamabad United chased down the target with ease, thanks to a stellar batting performance. Colin Munro led the charge with a magnificent 82 off just 47 deliveries, ably supported by Alex Hales’ 47 off 35 balls and Salman Ali Agha’s unbeaten 25* off 17 balls. Karachi Kings’ bowlers struggled to contain the United batsmen, with Mohammad Nawaz, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Hasan Ali managing to pick up a wicket each but conceding 23, 34, and 42 runs respectively.

Not only did Islamabad United secure a seven-wicket victory, but they also achieved the feat with nine balls to spare, showcasing their dominance in the match. With this win, Islamabad United now have two victories from five games, significantly improving their position in the PSL 2024 standings and keeping their hopes alive for a playoff berth.

Also, see:

Do you know? Qalandars can still qualify for PSL 9 playoffs

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Pakistan Super League