Connect with us

IPL 2023

List of All IPL Purple Cap Winners from 2008 to 2023

List of All IPL Purple Cap Winners from 2008 to 2023

IPL Purple Cap is an award presented to the leading wicket-taker of the Indian Premier League (IPL) season. It recognizes the bowler who takes the most wickets throughout the tournament. Over the years, many exceptional bowlers have claimed this prestigious title, showcasing their skill, talent, and consistency.

The history of the IPL Purple Cap is filled with remarkable performances from some of the finest bowlers in the world. In the inaugural season of 2008, Sohail Tanveer from the Rajasthan Royals emerged as the leading wicket-taker with 22 wickets in 11 matches. The following year, RP Singh from the Deccan Chargers claimed the Purple Cap with 23 wickets in 16 matches.

In 2011, Lasith Malinga, the Mumbai Indians’ pacer, displayed his mastery of swing and pace, capturing 28 wickets in 16 matches. Dwayne Bravo of the Chennai Super Kings proved his all-round prowess in 2013, securing 32 wickets in 18 matches.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, representing the Sunrisers Hyderabad, had back-to-back Purple Cap victories in 2016 and 2017, with 23 and 26 wickets respectively. Andrew Tye, playing for the Punjab Kings, showcased his bowling prowess in 2018, taking 24 wickets in 14 matches.

Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, and Harshal Patel are among the notable players who have claimed the Purple Cap in recent seasons, further enriching the IPL’s bowling legacy.

As the IPL continues to provide a platform for outstanding bowlers to showcase their skills, fans eagerly await the emergence of new Purple Cap winners who will etch their names into the history of this illustrious tournament. Let’s eye at Purple Cap Winners from IPL 2008 to 2003:


Season Player Team Matches Wickets
2008 Sohail Tanveer RR 11 22
2009 RP Singh DC 16 23
2010 Pragyan Ojha DC 16 21
2011 Lasith Malinga MI 16 28
2012 Morne Morkel DC 16 25
2013 Dwayne Bravo CSK 18 32
2014 Mohit Sharma CSK 16 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo CSK 16 26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar SRH 17 23
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar SRH 14 26
2018 Andrew Tye PBKS 14 24
2019 Imran Tahir CSK 17 26
2020 Kagiso Rabada DC 17 30
2021 Harshal Patel RCB 15 32
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal RR 17 27
2023 Mohammed Shami GT 17 28

Also, see:

List of all IPL winners from 2008 to 2023

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2023