Connect with us

IPL 2023

List of all IPL winners from 2008 to 2023

list of all ipl winners

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is widely regarded as the most fiercely contested T20 league in the world, attracting top cricketers from around the globe. Franchises participating in the IPL strive to claim the coveted IPL trophy, requiring consistent performance over a two-month period encompassing 16-17 matches. Captains play a pivotal role in creating winning combinations, leading their teams, and extracting the best performances from their players.

In the history of the IPL, two franchises have successfully deciphered the code to win the tournament. The Mumbai Indians and the Chennai Super Kings stand as the most accomplished teams, having clinched the title five times each. Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians emerged victorious in five IPL editions, while Chennai Super Kings, captained by MS Dhoni, also claimed the title five times.

The Kolkata Knight Riders rank as the third most successful franchise, having won the IPL trophy twice. Their triumphs came in 2012 and 2014, with Gautam Gambhir at the helm. Hyderabad also boasts two titles to their name. They first clinched victory in 2009 as the Deccan Chargers, led by the esteemed Adam Gilchrist, and then triumphed as the “Sunrisers Hyderabad” in 2016, captained by David Warner.

Shane Warne holds the distinction of becoming the first captain to win an IPL title during the inaugural season in 2008, leading the Rajasthan Royals. Additionally, the Gujarat Titans managed to secure the trophy in their debut season in 2022 under the leadership of Hardik Pandya. As yet another IPL season draws to a close, let’s review the All IPL winners from 2008 to 2023.

All IPL Winners & Runners-up List:

Year Winner Won By Runner Up Venue
2023 Chennai Super Kings 5 wickets Gujarat Titans Ahmedabad
2022 Gujarat Titans 7 wickets Rajasthan Royals Ahmedabad
2021 Chennai Super Kings 27 runs Kolkata Knight Riders Dubai
2020 Mumbai Indians 5 wickets Delhi Capitals Dubai
2019 Mumbai Indians 1 run Chennai Super Kings Hyderabad
2018 Chennai Super Kings 8 wickets Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai
2017 Mumbai Indians 1 run Rising Pune Supergiants Hyderabad
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad 8 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore
2015 Mumbai Indians 41 runs Chennai Super Kings Kolkata
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders 3 wickets Kings XI Punjab Bangalore
2013 Mumbai Indians 23 runs Chennai Super Kings Kolkata
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders 5 wickets Chennai Super Kings Chennai
2011 Chennai Super Kings 58 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai
2010 Chennai Super Kings 22 runs Mumbai Indians Mumbai
2009 Deccan Chargers 6 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore Johannesburg
2008 Rajasthan Royals 3 wickets Chennai Super Kings Mumbai

Also, see:

IPL 2023 viewership breaks 2019 record

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2023