Connect with us


Main England cricketer to miss Pakistan series

Main England cricketer to miss Pakistan series

England Cricket Team reached Karachi on Thursday to feature in a seven-match T20I series. The England Cricket Board (ECB) earlier named a second-string squad for the series, to be led by newly-appointed white-ball skipper Jos Buttler, and Moeen Ali as the deputy. If the reports revolving are accurate, the wicket-keeping batter Buttler is likely to miss the series.

He was expected to join the series in the latter stages but has revealed that the time could never come since he recovers from the calf injury. The veteran batsman is not ready to risk his injury as the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is just a month away from now on. If Buttler misses out, the deputy Ali will lead the seven-match T20I series against Pakistan in his absence.

While talking to the media, he quoted

“You don’t want to push it too soon, especially with what we have ahead. We have warm-up games in Australia (ahead of the T20 World Cup), so there is no desperate need to get as fit as possible. We’ve just got to take it as it comes. If I was available for the last couple (of games), that would be the best-case scenario at the minute. It might come earlier than that, it might not at all, but the picture will become clearer in a week or so,”

Although the batter was unlikely to visit Karachi but is with the squad to solidify his relations with the board. It must be noted England are without the services of out-of-form batter Jason Roy, whereas Liam Livingstone and Chris Jordan have not been considered due to their respective injuries. Veteran Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes are also not added to the squad.

England squad for Pak vs Eng T20I series

Jos Buttler (captain/wicketkeeper), Moeen Ali (vice captain), Harry Brook, Jordan Cox (wicketkeeper), Sam Curran, Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Richard Gleeson, Alex Hales, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Luke Wood

Pakistan squad for Pak vs Eng T20I series

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Aamir Jamal, Abrar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood and Usman Qadir

Also, see:

India blame Pakistan for losing Pak vs Ind match

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in England