Connect with us


Multan Sultans Aims for Third Consecutive PSL Final

Multan Sultans, Led by Mohammad Rizwan, Aims for Third Consecutive PSL Final

Multan Sultans has proven to be one of the most consistent teams in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) over the past three years. Under the captaincy of Mohammad Rizwan, who took over from Shan Masood in 2021, the team won their maiden PSL title. Rizwan’s leadership has been bolstered by his dominant performance as captain, building on his strong T20I performance for Pakistan in late 2020.

In PSL 8, the Sultans are eyeing their third consecutive final appearance as they take on Lahore Qalandars in the qualifier on March 15. The team’s batting prowess is their biggest strength, with skipper Mohammad Rizwan currently the highest run-scorer in PSL 8 with 483 runs from the league stage.

Usman Khan’s recent fastest PSL century off just 36 balls has further strengthened their batting line-up. The likes of Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, and Khushdil Shah add depth to their already dangerous batting order.

However, the Sultans’ two young bowlers, Abbas Afridi and Ihsanullah, who are the highest wicket-takers in PSL 8 with 22 and 20 wickets respectively, lack experience compared to their opponents. In high-pressure games, the young pacers may struggle.

The Sultans have played in the PSL qualifier for three consecutive years, losing to Karachi Kings in 2020, but qualifying for the final in PSL 2021 and 2022 after defeating Islamabad United and Qalandars, respectively.

Probable Lineup of Multan Sultans under Rizwan:

Mohammad Rizwan (c/wk), Usman Khan, Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Usama Mir, Sheldon Cottrell, Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah

Also, see:

Decided! Who will play in PSL 2023 Qualifier 1 and Eliminator 1?

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Pakistan