Connect with us

Women's Cricket

Mumbai Indians Women Win Inaugural Women’s Premier League T20

Mumbai Indians Women Win Inaugural Women's Premier League T20

In the final match of the inaugural Women’s Premier League (WPL) T20, the Delhi Capitals Women faced off against the Mumbai Indians Women. The match concluded today, with Mumbai Indians Women emerging victorious by seven wickets, having successfully chased down the target of 132 runs in 19.3 overs.

Winning the toss, Delhi Capitals Women elected to bat first, but were only able to score 131 runs at the loss of nine wickets. Opener Meg Lanning was the top scorer for the team, contributing 35 runs in 29 balls, while Shikha Pandey and Radha Yadav scored 27 runs each. In response, Issy Wong and Hayley Matthews took three wickets each for Mumbai Indians Women, while Amelia Kerr claimed two wickets. Mumbai Indians Women conceded only one extra run while bowling.

Mumbai Indians Women made 134 runs at the loss of three wickets, completing the chase in 19.3 overs to win the match by seven wickets. Nat Sciver-Brunt was the top scorer for the team, contributing 60 runs in 55 balls, while Harmanpreet Kaur scored 37 runs. Radha Yadav and Jess Jonassen took a wicket each for Delhi Capitals Women, while they conceded six extras to Mumbai Indians Women while bowling.

With this win, Mumbai Indians Women are crowned champions of the 2023 edition of the Women’s Premier League.

Also, see:

BCCI Expresses Concerns over Fitness of Indian Bowlers in IPL 2023

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Women's Cricket