Connect with us

New Zealand

New Zealand Unveil Experienced T20 World Cup Squad

New Zealand Cricket reveals 15-player squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 starting this June. Are you excited?

New Zealand Unveil Experienced T20 World Cup Squad

The stage is set for the 2024 T20 World Cup, and New Zealand have named its provisional 15-man squad, with veteran batsman Kane Williamson returning to lead the charge. Here’s a breakdown of the Black Caps’ selection:

The squad boasts a strong core of experienced players, including pace bowlers Tim Southee (set for his seventh T20 World Cup) and Trent Boult. This seasoned duo will provide much-needed stability in the bowling attack.

Newbies in New Zealand’s T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

While experience is key, New Zealand have not ignored rising talents. Rachin Ravindra and Matt Henry, who haven’t featured in a T20 World Cup before, have earned their spots with impressive performances.

Furthermore, injuries have unfortunately impacted the squad. Adam Milne’s ankle surgery necessitated his exclusion, while Kyle Jamieson remains unavailable due to a back injury.

Further adding an interesting layer, Devon Conway has been included despite missing the IPL due to injury. He is expected to be New Zealand’s first-choice wicketkeeper and opener at the World Cup. Finn Allen, who recovered from a back injury, also makes the cut.

Head coach Gary Stead highlighted the balance between experience and rewarding recent form. Players like Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, and Ish Sodhi, who impressed during the Pakistan tour, have secured their spots.

“I think when you go to World Cups you want experience and you want people that know what it’s like,” Stead said. “That certainly doesn’t exclude those that have really put their hand up. I think that what’s been really exciting about the tour to Pakistan.

We’ve seen some performances from some younger players, that’s really exciting for our future. And the message I had to them was, look, you haven’t been selected in the side, but in two years there’ll be another World Cup and that should be certainly a big enough carrot for you guys to put pressure on these guys that are here now.”

While experience was prioritized, the final squad did not include established names like Colin Munro and Martin Guptill.

“Those guys were discussed because of the experience they have,” Stead said. “But when you look at the group of batters that we’ve selected, there was no room for them.”

With a strong mix of experience and rising stars, New Zealand seem well-positioned for a successful T20 World Cup campaign. The inclusion of Ben Sears as the traveling reserve offers added flexibility.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ben Sears (travelling reserve)

Also, see:

Pakistan and New Zealand set to play another series after Champions Trophy 2025

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in New Zealand