Connect with us


Ind vs WI: No Virat Kohli as BCCI names squad for T20I series

Ind vs WI: No Virat Kohli as BCCI names squad for T20I series

The Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has named an 18-player squad for the upcoming T20I series versus the West Indies and the former skipper Virat Kohli is nowhere to be seen. The fans and the experts wonder if he has been excluded or dropped from the future plans as well.

Although he had been the only batter to average 50+ in all three formats, but the suffering form saw his Test average falling to 49.5 recently. Kohli’s 71st international century drought continues as he has been unable to score big in any format of the game.

There is a big question mark if his player-ship will soon come to an end after the lasting captain-ship era terminated with no good bid farewell. In his tenure, he could not manage a single World Cup trophy, including immense failures at crucial stages in the IPL for the Bangalores.

Undoubtedly, Kohli has been one of the greatest hunts in cricket, and very few across the world match his batting class. But with the poor from continuing over months and years have created a fuss for himself, and questions rising along with shattered hearts to see the favourite star diminishing, failing to get back to the track.

Concerning India’s T20I squad for the series against West Indies, Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal have been sidelined along with the ex-captain. While KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav have made their places. Also, Ravichandran Ashwin has earned the spot back.

The BCCI narrated Kohli has been rested. Now, it is to see if it is a misstatement, later witnessing Kohli’s place in the Asia Cup 2022 squad, to be named in a short course. Below is the complete squad for Ind vs WI T20I series:

Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

It must be noted the five-match t20I series is scheduled to begin on 29th July. The rest of the four matches will be played on 1st, 2nd, 6th, and 7th August respectively.

Also, see:

Misbah ul Haq says Virat Kohli’s batting suffers due to his mental issues

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in India