Connect with us

T10 League

Northern Warriors: Winners of T10 League 2021

T10 League, Northern Warriors

Northern Warriors became the champions for the second time

The T10 League has come to an end with Northern Warriors becoming the champions for the second time in the tournament’s history.

Northern Warriors were led by West Indies’ Nicholas Pooran. The side was filled with star players such as Andre Russell, Wahab Riaz, Aamir Yamin, Wayne Parnell and Nuwan Pradeep.

Northern Warriors were playing against the Delhi Bulls in the final of the T10 League. Before we get to the final match summary, let’s take a look at their road to the final and how they have reached there.

T10 League: Northern Warriors road to the final

Northern Warriors, T10 League

Northern Warriors captain Nicholas Pooran (Left) was the Player of the Tournament

Northern Warriors started the T10 League season four with a loss to the defending champions Maratha Arabians by five wickets in the group stage. Since then, they won two straight games with a better margin to top the group stage.

In the “Super League” stage, Northern Warriors then clean sweep the second round. They had ten points but were tied with Delhi Bulls and Qalandars. Due to the net run-rate, they ended second.

However, in the playoffs stage, they faced off Delhi Bulls in the “Qualifier” stage. They lost the Qualifier to them by five wickets and they played Team Abu Dhabi in “Eliminator 2”. This time, however, they won the match by seven wickets to face Delhi Bulls for the third time this season.

T10 League: The Final

Northern Warriors faced off Delhi Bulls. They won the toss and elected to bowl first as it has been the case throughout the tournament. All their bowlers were on fire as they restricted Delhi Bulls to 81-9, a total far below par. Sri Lanka’s Mahesh Theekshana was the pick of the bowlers as he picked 3-14 from his two-over spell.

The Northern Warriors took no time to chase the total down. It took them only 50 balls to chase the total by eight wickets.

Mahesh Theekshana was the player of the match and the captain, Nicholas Pooran was the player of the series. He scored 241 runs and the strike-rate of 243. He was the second-highest run-scorer in the tournament.

Northern Warriors won their second T10 League title.

Read more: Twitter reacts: Fans criticized on new PSL 6 anthem

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in T10 League