Connect with us


PCB announces men’s and women’s central contracts

PCB announces men's and women's central contracts

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on 30th June, announced men’s central contracts and has also revealed women’s central contracts list for 2022-23 on 1st July, Friday.

The fans were amazed to see the inclusion of pacer Hasan Ali and the exclusion of bowling all-rounder Faheem Ashraf in men’s central contracts. And, also bashed the addition of Mohammad Haris to the emerging list. Talks regarding Imad Wasim have been circulating since the all-rounder has not been seen anywhere near the national crew.

Notably, the PCB named five men cricketers in both formats, red and white-ball. The names are Babar Azam, Imam ul Haq, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Mohammad Rizwan. Whereas, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Abdullah Shafiq, Nauman Ali, Naseem Shah, Abid Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shan Masood, and Yasir Shah have earned red-ball contracts.

As far as white-ball contracts for men are concerned, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Wasim Jnr, Khushdil Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir, and Zahid Mehmood have been added in the list.

The emerging list includes Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Haris, Haseebullah, Ali Usman, Mohammad Huraira, Qasim Akram, and Salman Ali Agha. It must be noted that PCB, for the first time, has announced separate white-ball and red-ball contracts for the men’s cricket team. Below is the list showing the categories of the contracted players:


Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaheen Shah Afridi (all Category A), Hasan Ali (red-ball Category B, white-ball Category C) and Imam-ul-Haq (red-ball Category C, white-ball Category B)


Category A – Azhar Ali

Category B – Fawad Alam

Category C – Abdullah Shafique, Naseem Shah and Nauman Ali

Category D – Abid Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah


Category A – Fakhar Zaman and Shadab Khan

Category B – Haris Rauf

Category C – Mohammad Nawaz

Category D – Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir and Zahid Mehmood


Ali Usman (Southern Punjab), Haseebullah (Balochistan), Kamran Ghulam (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Haris (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Huraira (Northern), Qasim Akram (Central Punjab) and Salman Ali Agha (Southern Punjab).

Some of the salient features of the new central contracts are:

  • 10 per cent increase in match fees across all formats
  • Increase in match fee for non-playing members from 50 per cent to 70 per cent of the overall match fee
  • Introduction of a captaincy allowance to compensate the team captain for the additional responsibilities that come with that role
  • Allocation of an amount for current players with the aim to manage and reduce the workload of elite players and to ensure that they are fully fit, ready and fresh whenever they play for Pakistan

Concerning women’s central contracts, leg-spinner Tuba Hasan, who has inspired the watchers with her recent performances, has been awarded a central contract for the first time. Also, Gul Feroza and Sadaf Shamas have been identified as future prospects, gaining central contracts for the first time.

Ghulam Fatima, Irum Javed, and Sidra Amin have regained their contracts which see a 15 per cent increase in retainers across all categories. Fatima had last earned a contract for the 2018-19 season, Iram was last awarded a contract in 2016-17 and Sidra Amin was last given a contract in the 2019-20 season.

As many as 8 star performers have been promoted in the Women’s Central Contracts 2022-23. Aliya Riaz and Nida Dar have been promoted to Category A where they join national team captain Bismah Maroof. Anam Amin, Fatima Sana, Nashra Sandhu and Omaima Sohail have been elevated to Category B, while Muneeba Ali and Ayesha Naseem have been upgraded to Category C.

Javeria Khan, who had an ordinary 2021-22 season has been demoted to Category C along with all-rounder Kainat Imtiaz, who scored 61 runs in three ODIs and failed to take a wicket.

Below are the women’s central contracts for the 2022-23 cycle

Category A (3) – Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof and Nida Dar

Category B (5) – Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Nashra Sandhu and Omaima Sohail

Category C (5) – Ayesha Naseem, Muneeba Ali, Javeria Khan, Sidra Amin and Sidra Nawaz

Category D (7) – Ghulam Fatima, Gul Feroza, Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Sadia Iqbal, Sadaf Shamas and Tuba Hassan

Also, see:

Indian cricketer under heavy criticism for disrespecting groundsman

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Pakistan