Connect with us


PCB hints changing Pakistan T20 World Cup 2022 squad

PCB hints changing Pakistan T20 World Cup 2022 squad

The chief selector of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Mohammad Wasim, in his statements, has hinted that Pakistan T20 World Cup 2022 squad might be changed. Addressing the middle-over issues, he mentioned the board is trying different team combinations for Pakistan vs England T20I series, and the best suited can be swapped with the current squad.

A week back, the PCB announced green’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, composing of the ‘woe’ middle-order. The same middle-order was seen struggling in Asia Cup 2022, including Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, and Khushdil Shah. Fans have every legit reason to bash the selection that is yet to do wonder three or four down.

Wasim mentioned,

“The Pakistan team is facing batting problems for which efforts are being made to solve. The team management is also making different combinations in the recent series to solve it and giving the opportunity to bench strength. The World Cup is around the corner, and we are not too worried about two consecutive defeats.”

He also highlighted the uncertainty regarding changes and hopes that the selected squad does its best in the all-important event.

“I am not sure what changes could be made. I am hopeful that the players selected for the tournament will perform well [in the ongoing series].

It is pertinent to mention here that the PCB can make amendments to the squad till 15th October without needing any approval from the Event’s Technical Committee. Pakistan will kick-start their T20 World Cup 2022 venture against India on October 24th.

Pakistan T20 World Cup 2022 squad

Babar Azam (captain) (Central Punjab), Shadab Khan (vice-captain) (Northern), Asif Ali (Northern), Haider Ali (Northern), Haris Rauf (Northern), Iftikhar Ahmed (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Khushdil Shah (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Hasnain (Sindh), Mohammad Nawaz (Northern), Mohammad Rizwan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Wasim Junior (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Naseem Shah (Southern Punjab), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Shan Masood (Balochistan) and Usman Qadir (Central Punjab)

Travelling reserves: Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Haris (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Shahnawaz Dahani (Sindh).

Prior to the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, the World Cup-bound men in green will head towards New Zealand for a tri-series with Bangladesh and New Zealand.

Also, see:

Pakistan vs England T20I series complete schedule, squads

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Pakistan