Connect with us

Pakistan Super League

PSL 9 playoffs hopes officially end for Lahore Qalandars

PSL 9 playoffs hopes officially end for Lahore Qalandars

Despite their optimistic outlook, Lahore Qalandars’ hopes of qualifying for the PSL 2024 playoffs have been dashed after suffering their sixth consecutive defeat in the tournament. The team, led by Shaheen Shah Afridi, has faced disappointment in all six matches, including two losses to the Multan Sultans, leaving them languishing at the bottom of the table.

With their latest loss, Lahore Qalandars’ chances of making it to the playoffs have been extinguished entirely. Even if they had managed to secure a victory in their sixth game, they would have needed to win all remaining five matches, including the crucial encounter against the Multan Sultans on February 27th, to stand a chance. However, their tally of eight points (In case of wins in the remaining four games) falls short of the minimum requirement of ten points historically needed to secure a playoff spot.

Looking ahead, Lahore Qalandars’ remaining PSL 9 matches present a tough challenge. They will face off against Peshawar Zalmi, Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, and Quetta Gladiators on March 2nd, 6th, 9th, and 10th respectively. Despite their impending exit from the tournament, they will continue to play for pride in these matches.

As the tournament progresses to the playoffs stage, Lahore Qalandars will have to watch from the sidelines. The playoffs, scheduled to commence on March 14th at the National Bank Stadium, will feature the top-performing teams battling it out for a spot in the final.

While Lahore Qalandars’ journey in PSL 2024 may be coming to an end, they will undoubtedly seek to regroup and come back stronger in future editions of the tournament. With a talented squad and a resilient spirit, they will aim to bounce back from this setback and make a mark in the seasons to come.

Also, see:

Islamabad United – Lahore Qalandars, but in red

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Pakistan Super League