Connect with us

Indian Premier League

Rohit Sharma gets a cool present on his 35th birthday

Rohit Sharma gets a cool present on his 35th birthday

Mumbai Indians (MI) have finally managed to win their first encounter in the ongoing season of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2022). After losing eight consecutive matches, Rohit Sharma and his men made sure to tackle the Rajasthan Royals on Saturday, bringing their maiden victory of the edition to what fans understand as the perfect birthday gift for the hitman.

Like all other big teams, MI did not have a sound campaign, losing the inaugural match, and continuing till the losing streak of eight. However, on Sharma’s big day, they have bounced back, breaking the ill streak and taking the guts to do so.

The most successful IPL team conceded a target of 159 runs, which did not look hefty to chase for. Sharma’s bowlers could grasp six of the Royals batters. Sanju Samson’s line-up added a solid start at the top, with Jos Buttler contributing with 67 from 52 balls. The rest of them made average grants, to sum up, 158 on the board.

As far as Indians blowing line is concerned, Hrithik Shokeen and Riley Meredith got two wickets apiece whereas, Kumar Kartikeya and Daniel Sams settled for one for each.

After the MI stepped on the field to chase, they saw a collapse in the top-order as the birthday boy walked back on two. Ishan Kishan could not settle himself after 26 and go away. However, Suryakumar Yadav’s half-century took them close to the mark.

Kumar’s 50 was followed by the efforts of Tim David who played a crucial role to keep the game alive adding 20 from 9 balls in the end. MI finished it off in style as Daniel Sams pulled it harder over the square leg for a six, bringing 161 and closing the game with a win.

Notably, all five Royal bowlers plucked one wicket each except Daryll Mitchell who sustained 20 runs in the only over he bowled.

Also, see:

Why Saqib Mehmood kicked IPL offer?

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Indian Premier League