Connect with us

Cricket News

Ind vs NZ: Rohit Sharma named captain, No Virat Kohli in squad

Rohit Sharma named captain as India announce squad for New Zealand T20Is

As the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has named the teams for the upcoming Test, T20I series against New Zealand, Rohit Sharma has taken over Virat Kohli’s regime as a captain.

India are scheduled to play three T20Is and two Tests. The three T20Is will be played in Jaipur on 17, 19, and 21st November. The two subsequent Tests will be played in Kanpur (November 25-29) and Mumbai (December 3-7).

No Virat Kohli in the squad:

Reportedly, Sharma, who earlier was acting as a vice-captain, will also lead in the first Test match following Kohli’s unavailability. Notably, he has sought rest for Ind vs NZ T20I series and has not been named in the format’s squad.

It is expected that Kohli will return by the second Test and will lead the crew. The selectors are yet to announce the red-ball squad.

As most of the players have departed from Dubai to their backyard after their ICC T20 World Cup 2021 campaign ended for them, a flurry of changes will not see the same squad undergoing Ind vs NZ series.

The senior players, Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and overworked pacers like Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been rested. Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, and Rahul Chahar, who were part of the 15-member T20 World Cup squad, are the others to miss out.

The impressive performers from the Indian Premier League (IPL 2021) have successfully made their places in the India squad for T20Is vs New Zealand.

Here is the squad:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj.

Also, see:

Pakistan – 5 games, 5 wins, 5 players of the match

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Cricket News