Connect with us

Cricket News

Sarfaraz Ahmed and co win Quaid e Azam trophy 2023-24

Quaid e Azam trophy 2023-24, Sarfaraz Ahmed's karachi whites win

  1. Karachi Whites secured the fifth Quaid e Azam Trophy title with a resounding 456-run victory.
  2. Faheem Ashraf’s valiant century for Faisalabad couldn’t thwart Karachi’s dominance.
  3. Individual accolades awarded for best batter, bowler, wicket-keeper, player of the final, and player of the tournament.

In a thrilling climax to the Quaid e Azam Trophy, Karachi Whites secured their fifth title by overcoming Faisalabad at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, triumphing by a substantial margin of 456 runs on the final day of the five-day final.

This victory marked a historic achievement for Karachi Whites, who had last clinched the title in the 2001-02 season when they defeated Peshawar in the final. Moreover, they had earlier achieved a hat-trick of titles in 1990-91, 1991-92, and 1992-93.

The final day of the match witnessed Faheem Ashraf, the captain of Faisalabad, being the last batter to be dismissed, caught off the bowling of Ghulam Mudassar. This marked the onset of jubilant celebrations for the Karachi Whites, who were captained by Sarfaraz Ahmed. The win came with a significant cash prize of Rs.10 million, which was certainly a sweet reward for their exceptional performance.

Despite the outcome, Faheem Ashraf’s determined fightback was notable. He reached his fourth first-class century, scoring 147 from 181 deliveries, which included 23 fours and two sixes. His valiant efforts, along with partnerships with Arshad Iqbal and Mohammad Ali, added crucial runs for Faisalabad.

For Karachi Whites, Ghulam Mudassar stood out with figures of 3-62, while Shahnawaz Dahani took 2-119. Mir Hamza, Noman Ali, and Asad Shafiq also made valuable contributions with the ball.

This tournament saw several remarkable individual performances. Sahibzada Farhan of Peshawar was the tournament’s best batter with 847 runs, while Saim Ayub of Karachi Whites, who scored 203 in the first innings and 109 in the second in the final, was awarded the player of the final. Sarfaraz Ahmed, with 697 runs and 28 dismissals, was recognized as the player of the tournament.

Khurram Shahzad from Faisalabad was the leading bowler with 36 wickets in eight matches, and Ali Shan, also from Faisalabad, was declared the best wicket-keeper of the tournament with 28 catches and one stumping.

The final scorecard reflected Karachi Whites’ dominance in the match, as they posted 543 in the first innings and 370-7 declared in the second. Faisalabad, on the other hand, managed 124 in their first innings and 333 in their second, ultimately succumbing to Karachi Whites’ superior performance.

Also, see:

Pakistan may not consider this player for South Africa match

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News