Connect with us

West Indies

Shai Hope three consecutive fifties away to equal Miandad’s record

Shai Hope three consecutive fifties away to equal Miandad's record

Shai Hope three consecutive fifties away to equal Miandad’s record

West Indies Shai Hope enters the elite list of cricket players having the most number of consecutive 50 plus scores. He achieved the milestone after hitting three back-to-back fifty-over runs in a three-match ODI series recently concluded.

Notably, he already had three consecutive fifty-plus scores that came up in a three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka in 2020. As of now, he has six sequential fifty-plus ODI scores that make him one of the nine players on the list. If we look at Shai Hope’s last six scores, they are 115, 51, 72, 110, 84, and 64.

However, all these nine players rank second on the elite list of having fifties+ in successive innings as the first-ranked player is Javed Miandad. Pakistan’s explosive batsman had nine back-to-back fifty-plus scores in ODIs and no one has broken the record yet.

Hope is now three continuous fifty-plus scores away from equal Miranda’s record. He is also the third West Indies player to register the mentioned record. Here is the list of the players with six back-to-back fifty-plus numbers.

Shai Hope three consecutive fifties away to equal Miandad’s record

Players  Consecutive 50+ scores  Country  Opponent (in sequence) 
CE Greenidge  6  West Indies   England, England, 

England, England, New Zealand, England 


AH Jones  6  New Zealand  India, Pakistan, Pakistan, Pakistan, Pakistan, Pakistan 
ME Waugh  6  Australia  Sri Lanka, England, England, Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka, England 
Yousuf Yohana  6  Pakistan  Bangladesh, Bangladesh, Bangladesh, Bangladesh, South Africa 
Kane Williamson  6  New Zealand  England, England, England, England, Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe 
LRPL Taylor  6  New Zealand  England, Pakistan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka,  
Chris Gayle  6  West Indies  Bangladesh, England, England, England, England, Pakistan 
PR Stirling   6  Ireland  West Indies, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe 
SD Hope  6  West Indies  All vs Sri Lanka 

 Also, see:

Rashid Khan shocks everyone with his breathtaking record

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: List of IPL winners from 2008 - CricFolks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in West Indies