Connect with us


T20 World Cup: Ben Stokes left out of England squad

T20 World Cup: Ben Stokes left out of England squad

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have named their 15-member T20 World Cup squad, three reserves, following the 2021 event set to take place in Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from 17th October.

The biggest miss to the English crew is of the all-rounder, Ben Stokes, who played a crucial role in World Cup 2019 final vs New Zealand. Stokes earlier took an indefinite break from cricket focusing more on his mental wellbeing.

Chris Woakes has taken Stokes’ place who returned to T20I cricket this summer, after a long gap of five or more years.

Check: PCB announces Pakistan T20 World Cup squad

Moreover, Tymal Mills has marked his comeback to the strong 15-player squad. He lastly played a T20I encounter in 2018 as part of a World XI that took on West Indies at Lord’s, and his latest display for England goes further back, to February 2017 in a T20I versus India in Bengaluru.

Unquestionably, Mill’s pace will fulfill Jofra Archer’s vacancy who was sidelined for the rest of the year from the panel following his elbow injury.

Notably, Eoin Morgan and co will mark their and T20 World Cup opening campaign on 23rd October vs the defending champions, the West Indies.

England squad for T20 World Cup:

Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves: Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince

Also, see:

T20 World Cup: South Africa exclude Du Plessis, Imran Tahir

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in England