Connect with us


T20I cricket: 16 years anniversary

T20I, cricket

Twenty20 International cricket or T20I, is the shortest format of international cricket. Today marks its 16th anniversary of the format.

On this day in 2005, the first-ever T20 International cricket was played between Australia and New Zealand. It was reported that neither side took the format “seriously” as the format itself was made for fun. This was reported in the Wisden’s Almanac report for the first-ever T20I game.

Since then, there have been over many tournaments, leagues and competitions for the shorter formats. The growth of T20I style of cricket had started to take over the ODI game and hence, the ODI cricket has adopted more aggressive method of the shortest format.

Until 2018, only the test-playing nations were given the permanent status of T20I cricket. However, in January 2019, the ICC gave status to 85 countries for status.

T20I: Team Records

T20I cricket

West Indies are the only team to win two world titles in T20 tournament

1,122 international T20I cricket have been played with Pakistan have been the most successful team. They are the only side to win 100 T20I matches, most recently against South Africa last week.

In terms of the tournament, the ICC T20 World Cup, there have been five winners in six editions.

India won the inaugural edition of the tournament under MS Dhoni in 2007. West Indies are the only side to win two titles of the tournament, both led by Daren Sammy in 2012 and 2016.

The other teams who have won are Pakistan under Younis Khan in 2009, England under Paul Collingwood in 2010 and Sri Lanka under Lasith Malinga in 2014.

T20I: Individual Records

T20I, cricket

Virat Kohli has scored the most runs in the format

Most Runs: Virat Kohli (2,928)
Highest individual score: Aaron Finch (172)
Best batting average: Virat Kohli (50.48)
Best batting strike-rate: Ravija Sandaruvan (165.80)
Most fifties: Virat Kohli (25)
Most centuries: Rohit Sharma (4)

T20I, cricket

Lasith Malinga is the only man to take 100 T20I wickets

Most Wickets: Lasith Malinga (107)
Best bowling figures: Deepak Chahar (6-7) 
Best bowling average: Rashid Khan (12.62)
Best bowling strike-rate: Rashid Khan (12.3)
Most four-wicket hauls: Umar Gul (4)

Most dismissals as wicket-keeper: MS Dhoni (91)
Most dismissals as fielder: David Miller (61)


Read more: T20 World Cup – A lane down to history

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in T20