Connect with us

Pakistan Super League

10 IPL franchises divided into groups

Ten IPL franchises divided into groups

The Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has divided 10 IPL franchises into two different groups for the upcoming edition, IPL 15. All 10 teams will play 14 league-stage games which will count 70 matches following each side locking horns once with four teams, and twice with five teams.

As revealed by the BCCI on 25th February, the 10 IPL franchises have been placed in the groups as per the most appearance in finals, and the most number of trophies won. Hence, Mumbai Indians, the most successful IPL franchise, with five trophies, and the subsequent Chennai Super Kings with four trophies, are placed in separate groups.

Since the IPL 15 will see two new teams making the edition a 10-team affair, Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants are also placed in different groups. Alongside Mumbai, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow are placed in Group A. At the same time, Chennai along with Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Gujarat are part of Group B.

A day before, it has also been learnt that IPL 15 will kick-start on 26th March, a day prior than it was expected to begin. Whereas, the grand finale will take place on 29th May. The venue fuss had been going on for so long but finally, the 15th edition of the extravaganza is set to be played in Maharashtra’s iconic grounds.

A total of 70 matches will be played in IPL 2022 including 55 in Mumbai and 15 in Pune across four venues- Wankhede Stadium, Brabourne, DY Patil, and the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) respectively.

10 IPL franchises to undergo the tournament on 26th March

Also, see:

BCCI confirms venue for IPL 2022

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Pakistan Super League