Connect with us

Cricket News

These teams have qualified for Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

These teams have qualified for Women's T20 World Cup 2023

The eighth edition of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is all set to run in 2023 in South Africa. It was initially scheduled to take place in 2020 but was moved from its original slot to late 2022 to early 2023 due to the FIFA World Cup 2022.

In December 2020, the International Cricket Council (ICC) shared the qualification process for T20 World Cup 2023, according to which hosts South Africa automatically qualified. The rests were the top seven teams according to ICC T20I rankings for women.

According to the rankings, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and West Indies have reached the event automatically, without being part of the qualifying tournament. The teams that were part of the qualifying round are UAE, USA, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, Ireland, Zimbabwe, and Bangladesh.

Despite the eight teams qualifying, the two slots were left empty, which are now occupied by Ireland and Bangladesh, who are the finalists of the qualifying tournament. In the semi-finals, Bangladesh edged past Thailand, whereas Ireland defeated Zimbabwe. The two teams will now compete in the final on Sunday, but the match holds no importance to their positions in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023.

As far as the venues of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 are concerned, it was decided that three stadiums in South Africa, including Newlands Cricket Ground, Boland’s park, and St George’s Park Cricket Ground, will be considered. These stadiums have a seating capacity of 25000, 10000, and 19000, respectively.

Also, see:

Pakistani women cricketers promoted in ICC T20I rankings

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News