Connect with us

T20 Leagues

Three T20 leagues get extended windows in ICC FTP

Three T20 leagues get extended windows in ICC FTP

Three T20 leagues of the Big Three of cricket have got free extended windows in ICC Future Tour Programs (FTP), and no international cricket will be scheduled in the midst. According to the reports narrated by ESPN, India’s Indian Premier League, England’s The Hundred, and Australia’s Big Bash League’s windows will be counted in ICC FTP.

Earlier, Jay Shah, the secretary of the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI), announced proposing an extended window of two-and-a-half-month for IPL from next year. Since IPL 2022 was a ten-team encounter, and the extravaganza looks to expand with time, ICC has reportedly accepted BCCI’s proposal.

It must be noted that The Hundred and BBL will not occupy a window as long as IPL, but yet, no major international cricket will be played during the tenure. As written by ESPN,

“Every year, the period from the last week of March to the first week of June is an all-but-formalised window for the IPL,”

“Unlike the IPL, however, the Hundred and BBL windows don’t bring international cricket to a halt. They squeeze space out of the calendars of England and Australia, who have previously played both tournaments alongside international games,”

Geo Super confirmed,

At the sale of its media rights for the next five years in June, the BCCI had postulated a varying number of matches per season ranging from 74 games each in 2023 and ’24, 84 matches each in 2025 and ’26, and a maximum of 94 matches for the final year of the deal in 2027.

Notably, multiple boards, including the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have decided to raise rising leagues issue in the upcoming ICC annual meeting scheduled for next week in Birmingham. Faisal Hasnain, the Chief Executive of PCB, revealed the agendas that will be discussed in the meeting.

Also, see:

Shan Masood and team lose T20 match against India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in T20 Leagues