Connect with us

Mens T20 World Cup

Venues revealed for T20 World Cup 2024

Venues revealed for T20 World Cup 2024

As per a report by ESPNcricinfo, the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup is all set to grace the Caribbean and the United States from June 4 to 30, creating waves of excitement among cricket enthusiasts.

With the US gearing up to host an ICC event for the first time, the mega tournament is expected to unfold across ten vibrant venues. The shortlisted locations include Lauderhill in Florida, Morrisville, Dallas, and New York, which are designated for hosting thrilling matches and warm-up games.

Currently, Morrisville and Dallas are proudly hosting the inaugural edition of Major League Cricket, attracting cricketing talent and passionate fans.

However, it’s worth noting that the grounds in Dallas (Grand Prairie Stadium), Morrisville (Church Street Park), and New York (Van Cortlandt Park in the Bronx) are yet to attain international venue status, a mandatory requirement per ICC regulations. The final decision on the venues will be jointly made by the ICC, Cricket West Indies (CWI), and USA Cricket (USAC) in the upcoming months.

In a recent development, Ireland, Scotland, and Papua New Guinea have successfully secured their spots in the 20-team T20 Cricket World Cup through the regional qualifiers pathway, thoughtfully organized by the ICC.

While PNG emerged victorious in the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier, Ireland and Scotland claimed the top two positions in the Europe Region Qualifier. Over the coming months, qualifiers from the Americas (one spot), Africa (two spots), and Asia (two spots) regions will be determined, completing the diverse lineup of participating teams.

Before the regional qualifiers, 12 teams had already secured their berths in the tournament, including hosts West Indies and the US, along with the top eight teams from the 2022 T20 World Cup – Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka. Moreover, Afghanistan and Bangladesh secured their positions based on their standings in the T20I rankings.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 format explained

To add to the excitement, the format of the 2024 World Cup is expected to differ from the last two editions. Instead of the traditional Super 12s following the first round, next year’s tournament will witness the 20 teams divided into four groups of five each during the initial stage.

The top two teams from each group will then advance to the Super 8s, where the competition will intensify. The Super 8 teams will be further divided into two groups of four each, with the top two from each group proceeding to the highly anticipated semi-finals.

Also, see:

World Cup 2023: ICC team in India to assess security

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Mens T20 World Cup