Connect with us

West Indies

Why West Indies women are not playing Commonwealth games 2022?

Why West Indies women are not playing Commonwealth games 2022?

The Commonwealth Games 2022 are all set to kick-start tomorrow in Birmingham, and the fans are delighted to embrace a quality multi-sport tournament. This is the first time in the history of any international multi-sport competition that women’s cricket has been added.

The ICC revealed a qualification process for the Commonwealth Games. England, being the hosts, automatically qualified for the event, whereas the remaining teams, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India, and Pakistan, were added based on their T20I rankings. Sr Lanka won the final place, winning the qualifying tournament.

It is to question why not the sixth-ranked West Indies women’s cricket team (now fifth, sixth during qualification process) but the Barbados women are participating in Commonwealth Games Cricket.

Eight women’s cricket teams qualified for the tournament, but fans wonder why West Indies women are not part. It is because the Commonwealth Games is only for the Commonwealth nations and only six Caribbean Nations are part of the Commonwealth Games Association.

Where all Caribbean Nations are part of the Commonwealth Games 2022, the West Indies as a nation can not be part of the competition. The women in maroon ranked sixth on the ICC T20I Women’s Chart (during the time of qualification) and consequently qualified directly. ESPN Cricinfo has a greater explanation for it.

How did Barbados make it to the Commonwealth Games 2022?

As mentioned above, the West Indies were direct qualifiers under that rankings criteria, and so a tournament within the region – involving Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, and two composite teams representing the Leeward Islands and the Windward Islands – was planned to determine which Caribbean country would compete in the Games. That competition was cancelled because of the Covid-19 pandemic, and Barbados were selected to participate in the Games because they were the champions of the West Indies’ regional competition – the Twenty20 Blaze.

Source: ESPN

It must be noted that all the matches will be represented under T20 Internationals at Edgbaston Cricket Ground. Australia and India will open the Commonwealth Games Cricket on July 29th 2022.

Also, see:

This stadium will not host Pakistan men’s domestic season 2022-23

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in West Indies