Connect with us

World Test Championship

Who Will Claim the World Test Championship Title? Prize Money Revealed

Who Will Claim the World Test Championship Title? Prize Money Breakdown Revealed

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the prize money allocation for the World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle. The highly anticipated final of this cycle will witness India, the finalists of the inaugural edition, battling it out against Australia from June 7th to 11th at The Oval in London.

With a total prize purse of $3.8 million, the championship offers substantial rewards for the top-performing teams. The winners of the championship will walk away with $1.6 million, while the runners-up will receive $800,000. Interestingly, the winning prize money remains the same as the inaugural edition, which was clinched by New Zealand when they defeated India in the final in Southampton in 2021.

South Africa, securing the third position in the championship, will be awarded $450,000, while England, who made a late surge to finish in fourth place, will pocket $350,000. Sri Lanka, narrowly missing out on final qualification, secured the fifth position and will be rewarded with $200,000.

The remaining teams in the competition, namely New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, and Bangladesh, will each receive a sum of $100,000 for their participation and efforts.

India’s Rohit Sharma will lead the team in the final, while Australia will be captained by Pat Cummins. Both teams have assembled formidable squads featuring prominent players in the world of cricket.

India’s squad includes Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, KS Bharat (wk), Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Umesh Yadav.

On the other hand, Australia will be represented by Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, and David Warner.

The stage is set for a thrilling battle between these two powerhouses of cricket, as they vie for the prestigious World Test Championship title and a significant share of the prize money. Fans around the world eagerly await this epic showdown, which promises to deliver exhilarating cricketing action at its finest.

Also, see:

World-class brand is now BCCI’s sponsor for Indian Cricket Team

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in World Test Championship