Connect with us

Asia Cup

Who will lead Bangladesh in Asia Cup 2022?

Who will lead Bangladesh in Asia Cup 2022?

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has named Shakib Al Hasan the leader of the 17-player squad announced for Asia Cup 2022 on Saturday. The event is set to take place between August 27th and September 11th in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Shakib, the potential all-rounder of the team, will captain the team in Asia Cup 2022, the upcoming tri-series including New Zealand and Pakistan in New Zealand, and the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia later this year.

The recent weeks have been full of controversies for the all-rounder since he signed a deal with a betting company. The BCB missed the deadline to announce the Asia Cup 2022 squad while resolving Shakib’s issue. They put two options to choose from; either to terminate the contract with the betting company or to play for Bangladesh. With due respect, Shakib has opted to take charge of the green-red men.

Notably, Bangladesh will kick-start their Asia Cup 2022 campaign against Afghanistan on August 30th at Sharjah Cricket Stadium. Their 17-player squad is listed below:

Bangladesh squad for Asia Cup 2022

Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Mahmud Ullah, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Shaif Uddin, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Shabbir Rahaman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon

The other two teams to have announced the Asia Cup 2022 squad are India and Pakistan, while Afghanistan and Sri Lanka are yet to reveal theirs. The event will feature six teams, including the one clearing the Qualifiers (Kuwait, UAE, Singapore, or Hong Kong).

Also, see:

Which teams have not yet announced their squads for Asia Cup 2022?

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Asia Cup