Connect with us

Mens T20 World Cup

Who will lead Nepal in T20 World Cup 2024?

Rohit Paudel to Lead Nepal Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

In the lead-up to the T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the USA, Nepal cricket faces a blend of challenges and aspirations. Rohit Paudel assumes the mantle of leadership for the Nepali squad, poised to navigate the team through uncharted waters.

However, amidst the anticipation, notable exclusions mark the selection process, with Aarif Sheikh, Bibek Yadav, and Aakash Chand missing out on the coveted 15-man squad. The absence of key players underscores the team’s need to adapt and thrive in their absence.

Adding to the complexities, Nepal’s star T20 cricketer, Sandeep Lamichhane, finds himself entangled in legal woes, serving a jail sentence for rape. His absence leaves a void in the squad, emphasizing the need for other players to step up and fill the void.

Despite challenges, Nepal’s preparatory series against West Indies A offered glimpses of promise, with Paudel’s century in the first game shining as a beacon of hope. The experienced squad, featuring stalwarts like Aasif Sheikh, Anil Kumar Sah, Kushal Bhurtel, and Kushal Malla, stands poised to make an impact on the global stage.

Noteworthy inclusions, such as Dipendra Singh Airee, who recently made headlines for hitting six sixes in an over add depth and firepower to the lineup.

As Nepal gear up for the tournament, they find themselves placed in Group D alongside formidable opponents like Bangladesh, Netherlands, South Africa, and Sri Lanka. Their campaign kicks off on June 4 against the Netherlands in Dallas, marking the beginning of what promises to be an exhilarating journey for Nepali cricket.

The Nepal squad, led by Paudel, comprises a blend of experience and youthful exuberance, ready to defy the odds and make their mark on the grand stage of the T20 World Cup.

Rohit Paudel to Lead Nepal Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Nepal Squad: Rohit Paudel (capt), Aasif Sheikh, Anil Kumar Sah, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Rajbanshi, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Pratis GC, Sundeep Jora, Abinash Bohara, Sagar Dhakal, Kamal Singh Airee.

Also, see:

West Indies take 3-0 lead against Pakistan in T20I series

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Mens T20 World Cup