Connect with us

World Test Championship

World Test Championship: England close in to final


England have defeated Sri Lanka in the second and final Test match by six wickets to clinch the series 2-0.

The Poms have now won six consecutive Test matches in Sri Lanka, a streak stretching way back in 2012. Joe Root was the star performer for his side. He scored 426 runs at an average of 106.5 with two centuries. One of the century was a double ton which came in the first Test.

Root finished with twice as many runs as the next-best batsman in the series, with Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews comes next with 213 runs.

Sri Lanka had no clue on how to cope with the England’s spinners, who took all ten wickets in the second innings. What interesting moment happened was that England’s pace bowlers took all ten wickets in the first innings before their spinners taking all ten in the second. It happened for the very first time in Test cricket’s history.

Sri Lanka’s head coach Mickey Arthur was disappointed with the approach Sri Lanka had in the second innings, despite taking first innings lead of 37.

“We fought and fought and fought for three days and got ourselves in a really good position, and in two hours we proceeded to throw it away. It was poor batting. It’s something I’m going to sit and talk with the players about now. When we lead the game, we’ve got to be able to put our foot on the neck of the opposition and we didn’t do that. That today just wasn’t good enough. We’ve got to learn to be ruthless.”

Sri Lanka were bundled out for 126 in the second innings, giving England only the target of 164, which England chased it down with four wickets to spare.

England close to qualify for WTC final

After winning the series, England have now placed at fourth position and are closing in to qualifying the final of the ICC World Test Championship 2019-2021. They will require to beat India in their upcoming series. They are very close with Australia, New Zealand and India.

India have already sealed their spot. But they are closely followed New Zealand and Australia. India have 71.7%, New Zealand 70%, Australia 69.2% and England 68.7% of points they have earned.

ICC World Test Championship – Points Table 
Position Team  PTC Points  Series Played
1 India 71.7% 430 5
2 New Zealand 70.0% 420 5
3 Australia 69.2% 332 4
4 England 68.7% 412 5
5 South Africa 40.0% 144 3
6 Pakistan 30.7% 166 4.5
7 Sri Lanka 16.7% 80 4
8 West indies 11.1% 40 3
9 Bangladesh 00.0% 0 1.5

India, New Zealand and England have one more WTC series remaining. While Australia have two more series remaining. India and England will play against each other, starting this February 5th. If England wins the series 4-0, they will easily leapfrog New Zealand and will qualify for the final.

Read More: 1st Test: Pakistan vs South Africa, Match preview


1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Bangladesh on second in ICC Super League - CricFolks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in World Test Championship