Connect with us

T20 Leagues

CSA announces six-team T20 league

CSA announces six-team T20 league

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has introduced a franchise-based T20 league, composed of six teams, which will kick start in January 2023. According to details, the board has launched the competition in collaboration with SuperSport.

One of the board’s representatives shared the details in the official statements as per which the inaugural edition of the league will be played early in the New year, soon after the South Africa tour of Australia will be terminated.

CSA yet to name its newly launched T20 league

South Africa’s T20 league, which is yet to be named, like other franchise-based cricket, will invite overseas cricketers to participate. Also, an auction will take place ahead of the tournament for which date will be announced in a short course.

The T20 league, featuring privately-owned six teams in the first edition, will see every franchise competing versus each other twice in the round-robin stage. The top three sides will be moved to the playoffs, including the Qualifier, Eliminator 1, and Eliminator 2.

It must be noted that the league will entertain 33 matches, out of which 30 will be played as the league-stage games. The event will be managed by a new organisation founded by CSA and SuperSport.

In the statement, CSA added,

“the corporation is aiming at a very attractive player compensation bill per team that will challenge other leagues across the world outside of the IPL.”

Also, see:

Omaima Sohail bowled 7-ball over vs South Africa, mentally absent umpire fails to note

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in T20 Leagues