Connect with us

World Test Championship

India miss out another ICC trophy

India miss out another ICC trophy

Indian Cricket Team strive to win an ICC trophy continues as they fell out in the ICC World Test Championship 2023 final facing off Australia. On the other hand, Australia are now the only side with all ICC titles in men’s cricket.

Australia made history by becoming the first men’s team to secure victory in all major ICC tournaments. Their impressive record includes triumphs in the ODI World Cup in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015, along with consecutive victories in the ICC Champions Trophy in 2006 and 2009.

Furthermore, Australia’s T20 World Cup title drought ended in the 2021 edition held in the United Arab Emirates, where they defeated New Zealand in the final, led by Aaron Finch.

India’s fourth defeat in ICC final since 2013

In contrast, India faced their fourth defeat in an ICC final since their last title win, the 2013 Champions Trophy. They also secured runner-up positions in the 2014 T20 World Cup, 2017 Champions Trophy, and the previous WTC edition, which took place in 2021 and was won by New Zealand.

Pat Cummins and co looked in the game from the very beginning as they smashed 469 in the first inning with the help of Travis Head and Steve Smith’s standout performances. Indian bowlers fought had versus the Aussies’ runs, but it was only Siraj who could manage four wickets. The rest showed below-par performances, but eventually, managed to get all Cummins’ batters on 469.

Also, see: World Cup 2023: Which Indian stadium will host Pak vs Ind?

In reply, Rohit Sharma and co did not put a solid start. It was Ajinkya Rahane’s 89 and Shardul Thakur’s 51 that let them keep going. However, facing off the Australian bowlers’ supremacy, they all departed on 296. Skipper Cummins picked three of the Indian batters while Smith struck with two for 44.

Beginning the third inning of the match, Australia had the lead and they added 270 more runs. Thanks to Alex Carey’s 66 and Mitchell Starc’s 41. They chose to declare on 270 on the loss of eight wickets, adding to the previous lead, and setting up a target of 444 runs for India to win. The men in blue unluckily collapsed on 234 with Virat Kohli’s 49 and Rahane’s 46.

Nathan Lyon’s spinning tactics worked out as he ended up with a four-wicket haul in the final inning of the game while Scott Boland, who has been in the news for the famous catch of Shubman Gill, bagged three wickets.

With this, India’s dream to pick the first ICC trophy in years comes to an end, with Australia becoming the world cricketing giant with all ICC trophies in their cabinet.

Also, see:

When will ICC World Cup 2023 schedule be released?




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in World Test Championship